Security Guard License in Minnesota
In order to apply for a Security Guard license, you must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or GED and provide proof of your identity. Be sure to take an approved security guard training program before contacting the State of Minnesota.
Applicants are required to successfully complete two hours worth of instruction on physical restraint techniques, emergency medical treatment and CPR/AED skills as part of the training course.
In addition to taking a training program, applicants must also take and pass the Minnesota Private Sector written examination from an approved testing provider. To apply for a security guard license in Minnesota, visit the State of Minnesota Public Safety website at dps.mn.gov and complete a Security Guard Application form under the “Forms” section on the home page.
Applicants are required to submit this form along with a copy of their training certificate, Minnesota Private Sector written examination score sheet and completed fingerprint card.
What is a security guard license?
A security guard license is a license that gives you permission to work in the state of Minnesota. The requirements for obtaining a license typically include being over 18 years old, living in Minnesota, and possessing a high school diploma or its equivalent. In addition, you may need to pass a background check exam and be fingerprinted. Before being approved for a license, you must also have completed an approved training course or course equivalency for security guards.
Before applying for a security guard license, ensure that you meet all of the requirements and understand what steps must be completed. The process typically involves:
Fulfilling educational and training course requirements, Completing application paperwork, Passing an exam, Being fingerprinted, Meeting with background investigators, and Filing your application.
Once you have completed these steps, apply for a license by completing the appropriate forms and petitioning for your license with the Department of Public Safety. If you meet all requirements and pass background checks and exams, you will be granted a security guard license. You must renew your license every two years in order to continue to work as a security guard in the state of Minnesota.
Security Guard License (Unarmed Security Guard)
Anyone employed as a private detective or protection agent is required to spend at least 12 hours of pressignment training during the first week of their employment. Anyone who has left the field for a period of three years or more and is then hired again as a private detective or protective agent has to repeat the pressignment instruction.
Firearms Permits (Armed Security Officer)
No license holder certified Representative, Minnesota manager, partner, or employee can carry or utilize weapons or an immobilizing or restraint technique unless they have completed the required training instructed by the Board.
The individual is not permitted to carry or carry firearms while they are undergoing training.
While the basic topics for the training in firearms are specified within the regulation, the required amount of hours spent in training isn’t.
Keep in mind these 3 things
- must be minimum of 18 years old. age.
- Have a clean record of convictions for felony offenses and there are no convictions for crimes mentioned in the statute (see Minn. Stat. SS326.3381 subd. 3 (1)).
- be honest, of good character and integrity.
If you want to get a Security Guard License in Minnesota, be sure to complete the appropriate steps. The requirements for getting your license are divided into three steps:
1) Apply for your Minnesota Security Guard License
2) Demonstrate at least four hours of relevant training
3) Completing an Office Action form.
If you’re looking for more information on Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements. Click here
Security guard license resources
CEU Application Form
New Training Course Application
New Training Instructor Application
Minnesota security guards fall under the supervision by the State of Minnesota Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services. Protective agent services encompass a variety of businesses, including those that provide guards, security personnel, and armored car personnel (https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/326.338). The individuals who manage the security companies, whether as proprietors or as ‘qualified representatives who are licensed by the state, must have licenses.
Security personnel aren’t licensed but must be able to meet the requirements that are set at the State level. The requirements are more stringent for those who are Armed.